The Stepsister Scheme | The Mermaid’s Madness | Red Hood’s Revenge | The Snow Queen’s Shadow


The Snow Queen’s Shadow:

“Hines fills this volume with heart-wrenching emotional scenes as well as exciting fight sequences, and brings each heroine’s story arc to a reasonable conclusion. There’s plenty of room for readers to imagine further adventures, but the series feels satisfyingly complete.”

-Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)


“Action and adventure mixes with romance, which should please fans of traditional as well as revisionist versions of the works of the Brothers Grimm, Hans Christian Andersen, and Charles Perrault.”

-Library Journal


“The fourth and final book in Hines’ Princess series brings a complete, organic, and realistic conclusion to many of the story arcs that have spanned the series. Add to this the exceptional character development and engaging dialogue, and you have a must read for any fan of the series or the fantasy genre.”

-Romantic Times (Top Pick)


“Hines not only wraps up this series satisfyingly for the main characters, he manages to click into place several bigger-picture elements which he’s been maneuvering into position over the entire four-book series … The Snow Queen’s Shadow easily takes the top spot in the series and makes me want to re-read the other three all over again.”

-John Booth, GeekDad


“There’s a lot that can be said about this series, and this book as the last chapter in a larger story. It’s been consistently enjoyable, and one of the best fairy tale updates I’ve seen in many years. Hines has worked miracles in turning his fairy tale heroines  into full-fledged, complex, fascinating characters…”

-Michael M. Jones, Green Man Review


“[F]ans should be satisfied with the exciting showdown and soulful sendoff. I certainly was. As before, the action and adventure are non-stop with plenty of drama, magic, and inspired characters. Don’t miss this brilliant, action-packed fantasy series.”

-SciFiChick


Red Hood’s Revenge:

“…transcends its predecessors with exciting combat scenes and emotionally complex characters … Far more than a modernized retelling, Hines’s work is a real synthesis of cultural tropes into a unique world that is worth visiting again and again.”

-Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)


“More dramatic than previous installments, this latest story revolves mainly around Talia and Roudette, bringing to light more of their dark and horrible pasts… There’s plenty of the suspense and action that make this fantasy series great. Hines’ princess heroines from fairy tale lore are truly unique and completely enjoyable from start to finish. I can’t wait to see what comes next from this highly talented fantasy author.”

-SciFiChick


“Hines excels at world-building and layered storytelling as well as keeping things moving … While Red Hood also has its share of generations-old evils and plot twists, it’s got Hines’ strongest and most straightforward story so far at its core, and it’s easily my favorite in the series.”

-John Booth, GeekDad


Combining the best parts of fantasy and folklore, mixed with action and adventure, tinged with horror (just like the original stories!), RED HOOD’S REVENGE is a thoroughly satisfying continuation of the series, and a worthy updating of these cultural icons.

-Michael Jones, Green Man Review


The Mermaid’s Madness:

“The fairy tale framework provides a hook for the reader into this trio of engaging, effective adventurers taking to the high seas—without any dainty pretensions—to save their kingdom and the people they love … This novel will appeal to anyone who yearns for the heroines of their childhood—or just a witty, well-constructed adventure tale about powerful women stepping up with skill and cleverness.”

-Publishers Weekly


“I thoroughly enjoyed this novel, even more than the first. With a huge twist on the Little Mermaid story, the princesses stand up against the dangers of the sea as well as odd magic from a legendary sea witch. Steeped in adventure and danger, this dark fairytale is like no other. And a huge twist in the story had me at the edge of my seat until the very end. Fantasy and fairytale fans beware; you’ll be hooked on this mermaid’s tale.”

-SciFiChick


“Hines pulls out the serious artillery in this sequel to THE STEPSISTER SCHEME. The action is quick paced and engaging, and the three main characters flout all princessy cliches. Though known for his humor, Hines leaves much of that behind as he embraces a darker, more ‘Hans Christian Andersen’ type of fairy tale. A great read.”

-Romantic Times


“MERMAID’S MADNESS is essentially what would happen if Charlie’s Angels met the Disney Princesses and had a lesbian love affair ending (somehow) in a child that they abandoned to the Brothers Grimm who smacked the poor dear around until marriageable age, at which point it turned into a book, because turning into a pumpkin is just silly.”

-Cassandra Yorgey, Philadelphia Speculative Fiction Examiner


“The story is a strong mix of magic and adventure, with a number of well-portrayed and involving women characters at its heart … enjoyable and leaves one looking forward to more books about this dynamic trio of princesses.”

-Rich Horton, Fantasy Magazine


“THE MERMAID’S MADNESS is another tour de force of characterization … I’m anxiously awaiting the next book in the series already, and no greater compliment can be made.”

-Dave Roy, Curled Up with a Good Book


“Hines once again brilliantly remixes fairy tale elements with a modern action/adventure sensibility, as if the Brothers Grimm had been allowed to watch a Charlie’s Angels marathon. THE MERMAID’S MADNESS is fast-paced, energetic, exciting and amazingly fun … Hines has a winner.”

-Michael Jones, Green Man Review


“THE MERMAID’S MADNESS belongs on your must-read list. It’s an enthralling adventure that takes you back to the stories of your childhood and then folds, spindles and mutilates them–in the best possible way. One of the most entertaining stories I’ve read all year. You’ll never watch the Little Mermaid the same way again.”

-Diana Pharaoh Francis, author of THE BLACK SHIP


“The fast-paced adventure gets off to a rousing start and never falters. Hines adds a touch of dark humor to the captivating story, deftly exploring dynamic relationships.”

-Ray Walsh, Lansing State Journal


“In THE MERMAID’S MADNESS, Jim C. Hines continues his darkly humourous exposure of the fairy-tale happy ending — where princesses have to step up and kick ass.”

-Violette Malan, author of THE SOLDIER KING


“I found it immensely enjoyable in the same way that I found fairy tales enjoyable.  It’s a good adventure story, with magic and evil and a few misunderstood characters in it.  The plot doesn’t drag at all, and it was well-paced … an excellent book for anyone who enjoys retellings of fairy tales.”

-BSC Review


The Stepsister Scheme:

“Hines’ strength in his brilliantly plotted, cleverly imaginative book is character concepts and interactions. The action never stops, and the characters are painstakingly real. Readers will laugh and find the tale is over before they’re ready to finish reading.”

-Victoria Frerichs, Romantic Times (January 2008 Top Pick)


“Hines brilliantly remixes and reimagines three of the most popular fairy tale heroines of all time, recasting them as action heroines and secret agents in a world of magic, treachery, intrigue and adventure … There’s strange magics and sharply-executed combat, and some genuine bonding between the three princesses along the way, and hopeless odds to be overcome. In short, this is one hell of a book.”

-Michael Jones, Green Man Review


“THE STEPSISTER SCHEME is a fun read, with great Fantasy elements and three great protagonists. If you like fairytale retellings and strong female characters, look out for this one.”

“THE STEPSISTER SCHEME is a delightful, action-packed, full-tilt ride of a novel, and it is exactly the type of diverting plot-heavy entertainment that is near and dear to my heart.”

-Ana and Thea, The Book Smugglers


“Fantastically fresh and exciting, THE STEPSISTER SCHEME is another hit by Goblin series author Jim C. Hines. Fantasy and fairytale fans will enjoy this quirky and fun adventure of three princesses, each with an incredible story to tell.”

-SciFiChick


“Readers who discovered Hines through Goblin Quest, Goblin Hero, and Goblin War, are going to find similar strong characterization, the breadth of humorous riffs on fantasy tropes (especially fairy tales), and deftly set up, increasingly complex world building.”

-Sherwood Smith, SF Site


“Hines’s strengths, his quick pacing, humor, energetic wit, lively characterizations combine with imaginative reveals of new facets and facts about the princesses throughout the story … Highly recommended for readers who enjoy Gregory Maguire and Terry Pratchett.”

-E. E. Knight, Black Gate


“THE STEPSISTER SCHEME is yet another winner, one more reason why I will pick up every book Hines writes…. This book is a scream, and possibly his best book yet.”

-Dave Roy, Curled Up with a Good Book


The characters are interesting, the action is fun, and fairyland is full of imaginative and familiar creatures … THE STEPSISTER SCHEME has plenty of action, comedy and fun characters. But it’s really a story of about the power of jealousy, doubt, friendship and love. A great read for young adults, but I’m sure readers of any age would get a kick out this page turner.”

-Andrea Johnson, SF Revu


“[A] rousing tale of sword and sorcery, set in the world of fairytales we all love, with equal parts humor and despair … I recommend reading it, as I recommend all of Hines’ work. His work is always entertaining, and in many ways THE STEPSISTER SCHEME is his best yet.”

-John Ottinger, Grasping for the Wind


“THE STEPSISTER SCHEME is not your Grandma’s fairy tale.  Action, intrigue, romance, action, treachery, and did I mention action?  These princesses will give Charlie’s Angels a serious run for the money, and leave ‘em in the dust. Read it!”

-Esther Friesner, author of NOBODY’S PRINCESS


“What a romp, both light and dark, sometimes sexy, and along the way occasionally quite brutal . . . an amazing gallop to save a prince, thwart a witch, rescue a kingdom, and turn fairy tale conventions upside down in the process.”

-Jane Yolen, author of BRIAR ROSE and two-time Nebula winner


“What fun!  In THE STEPSISTER SCHEME, Jim Hines shows that what happens after happily ever after is even more interesting.  A thoroughly enjoyable reinvention of the fairy tales you thought you knew.  If you like your princesses smart and strong, read this book.”

-Theodora Goss, author of IN THE FOREST OF FORGETTING


“An engaging, well-paced romp that sheds a whole new light on some delightfully familiar characters. Make sure you free up some time before starting this one because you won’t be able to put it down.”

-Mickey Zucker Reichert, author of THE RETURN OF NIGHTFALL


“THE STEPSISTER SCHEME is a very entertaining read. I loved the magic and fresh twist on the notion of ‘happily ever after.’”

-Kristen Britain, author of THE HIGH KING’S TOMB